Seven to eight. & Our thanksgiving. & sledding.

Tonight I gave Brandon and Olive baths, lotioned and jammied them and put Olive into bed early with her puppy. Milk is being warmed in a saucer so I can make Brandon some hot chocolate before bed. It’s so surreal these last few hours of him being 7 years old, jumping and playing with his Sonic action figures with a fierce energy and enthusiasm it seems only children have.

When I look back and see photos of him at Olive’s age it makes me sad that he grew up so quickly, that time I once took for granted, and that time is gone and only now a memory and I forget some things about him when he was a baby sometimes so I have to refer to the baby book to recall what his favorite food was at a year old or what his favorite toy was at 6 months or when he got his first little baby tooth. And then I feel like a failure because I can’t remember those things on my own and what about 2 years and 3 and 4 and so on? What about all of those things I can’t remember? I only had a book for the first year…

our little boy we love you so much.

I will savor these last few hours as he goes from seven to eight years old and I will remember how I took him and Olive sledding together today and how he held her tight as we zipped around the back yard full of smiles and laughter, how we had hot chocolate together and he asked to play a Sonic game on the computer before bedtime and anticipated his upcoming birthday but saying he wanted to stay seven…. and that he only wanted presents and brownies haha!

……

We were so thankful to spend the day in New Hampshire with our family for Thanksgiving. It was absolutely wonderful and now a cherished memory. With lots of photos.

Olive and Brandon’s jumbo letter shirts courtesy of Gorno Couture.

Brandon and Olive enjoyed watching a Charlie Brown Special at Grampa’s.

And we caught a glimpse of a gorgeous sunrise outside dads door come morning.

…..

We got home this afternoon, took our boots off and then I had the most brilliant idea. Let’s put our boots back on and go sledding. It was so fun. The temperature was very mild at nearly 50 degrees, perfect to get outside and enjoy it.

Leaving you with a Friday sunset.

Enjoy your weekend.

One thought on “Seven to eight. & Our thanksgiving. & sledding.

  1. Happy 8th Birthday Brandon! I am glad you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving. we did too a quiet one lol. I have pics I am going to do later I will be sure to Email them to you. I haven’t been on top of things lately.not sure how to set this up yet I may need your help lol… talk to you soon love you ❤

Leave a Reply

